top of page
  • Writer's pictureOff Belay

Rock Respect (French Edition)

A few weeks ago, the English version of the Climber's Code of Respect was finalized. Some background on the project can be found here, Rock Respect. I figured a French translated version for Quebec gyms and shops should be easy enough to create... oh how wrong I was.


Being French illiterate was not a good start, but being currently surrounded by bilingual climbers I assumed all would go smoothly. I have since learned that French grammar is an absolute PITA. Even Francophones can't seem to really agree what the best way to translate something was. I had Quebecois stating that one way was more appropriate. While French teachers and Francophones who learned french elsewhere thought another way was better. Long story short, an excessive amount of back and forth happened before we arrived at something that everyone was ok with.


The good news is that there is now an FQME approved french version of the code. Hooray!


I'm sure the English version will get some edits in the future. I can't wait to get those translated to French.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mera

bottom of page