top of page
  • Writer's pictureOff Belay

"I think it's actually magic."

Updated: Apr 28, 2018

That is what off-width legend Pamela Shanti Pack says about the Mad Rock Trigger Wire Carabiner.

Mad Rock has created a simple yet ingenious carabiner that stays open until it is triggered to shut. It the perfect carabiner for stick clipping shenanigans. No more propping the gate open with a twig or rock that pops out half the time. Paired with a long dogbone (use the longest one you can find), it gives you a mini-stick clip on your harness to bust out when you get scared. I'm a bit of a wimp on lead at times so I'll often back-clean and swap it out so I can have it again for later on the route.



I've had one for three seasons now and I wish I had discovered it sooner. I rack it for most climbs because one never know when it might come in useful; which basically means I'm just scared to make another move. You only really need one and at the price it sells for ($12 CND), there' few reasons not to have one or gift one. Kong offers a similar product with the appropriately named Kong Panic. They've gone one step further by pairing it with an extra long and stiffened dogbone, giving you an even longer reach.

https://www.kong.it/en/2-products/items/f38-aid-climbing/p420-panic


Watch the video below for some off-width wizardry and see the Trigger Wire in action.

You can purchase Trigger Wires direct from Mad Rock Canada, Mad Rock Trigger Wire


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page